Computer Settings

On the Computer Settings page, you can set properties to help manage computers in your environment:

The Computer Settings page displays computer management properties options

  • Deactivate computers
  • Delete computers

To access the Computer Settings page:

  1. On the sidebar menu, click Configuration.
  2. On the Settings panel, click Computer Settings.

 

Computer Deactivation Settings

This page allows you to choose whether you want to deactivate computers that have not contacted PMC for a number of days that you define, when you enable the functionality. For example, a computer might not have contacted PMC if it is a duplicate.

The task to deactivate computers runs every day at 02:30 server time on the node where the job service is running. The deactivation job is audited in the Activity Log. You can filter by deactivated computers in the Computers grid.

To set auto deactivation on computers:

  1. In the Computer Deactivation section, select Automatically deactivate inactive computers.
  2. Enter the number of days that pass before the computer is deactivated.
  3. Click Save Changes.

Deactivated computers are disconnected from PMC and are no longer able to communicate with PMC. This action cannot be reversed unless you reinstall the software on the client computer.

 

With the release of PMC version 20.1, auto deactivate functionality is turned off by default, for both upgrades and new installations. If you want to turn on auto deactivate functionality, use the Computer Deactivation setting. The functionality remains unchanged.

You can also manually deactivate computers.

For more information, please see the following:

You can view a list of deactivated computers from the Computers grid by filtering by the Deactivated status.

Computer Deletion

You can automatically delete deactivated computers.

To set automatic deactivated computer deletion:

  1. In the Computer Deletion section, select Automatically Delete Deactivated Computers.
  2. Enter the number of days that pass after the computer is deactivated.
  3. Click Save Changes.