Privilege Management Console Computers

The Computers page allows you to see and to interact with the end computers being managed by PMC.

To select all currently displayed rows, click the check mark beside the Name column. If you want to expand the selection, scroll down to the bottom of the grid and click the dropdown menu beside the page numbers to change how many rows are displayed on each page.

Privilege Management Console Computers Page

Authorize and Assign Computers to a Group

You can authorize and assign computers to a group in one step, provided the computers haven't previously been authorized. If they have previously been authorized, then instead follow the steps in the link below to assign computers to a group.

You can see which endpoints have not been authorized by selecting Pending Activation from the top of the Status column.

  1. Select Computers from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the computer(s) you want to place in a group and authorize in one step, and then select Authorise from the top of the grid.

You can select multiple rows using the standard Windows functionality.

  1. Select the group you want to assign it to from the dropdown group and click Assign. If you haven't created any groups yet, you will see only No Group in the dropdown.
  2. If you have a Default group, it will be selected by default, otherwise you can select the group you want to use from the dropdown menu. Click Assign. A toaster notification will briefly flash green at the top of the screen to indicate that PMC has processed your request.

For more information, please see the following:

Reject Computers Not Authorized

You can reject computers not yet authorized with PMC.

Manual Deactivation

If the computer is already authorized, you can use PMC to manage deactivations manually.

For more information, please see Deactivate Computers.

Automatic Deactivation

Alternatively, you can use PMC to manage deactivations automatically.

Rejected computers are disconnected from PMC and will no longer be able to communicate with PMC. This action can't be reversed unless you reinstall the software on the client computer.

  1. Select Computers from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the computer you want to reject and click Reject from the top of the grid. You are prompted to verify that you want to continue with the rejection of the computer. Click Reject Anyway to proceed; otherwise, click Cancel.

For more information, please see Computer Deactivation Settings.

View Details on an Computer

For a single computer you can view additional details.

  1. Select Computers from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipsis icon on the row of the computer you want to view the details of and select View Computer Details.

The Computer Details screen includes additional information, including Authorization Status, Deactivation Type, Computer Deactivated, and Computer Authorized timestamps where applicable.

You can also view information about the computer, the name of the policy, and the version that is applied.

Update

You can request a computer to send its updated information by clicking Update Computer Details. This action gets the latest information from the computer.

  1. Select Computers from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipsis icon on the row of the computer you want to update and select Update Computer Details.

Apply Policy

If you want to apply a policy update to a specific computer, you can do so here.

On the Computer Details page, click Policy. Click the Policy name to access the Policy Detail section. From here, you can edit the policy as well as upload a new revision.

For more information, please see Privilege Management Console Policies

Computer Logs

  1. On the Computer Details screen, click Logs. This shows you a list of logs that have previously been requested. To get a new set of logs from the computer, click Request Logs.
  2. PMC will request the logs from the computer and you can view them when this request is returned. The next time the computer connects to PMC, it will retrieve the logs.

Command Log

On the Computer Details screen, click Command Log. This shows you a list of commands that have been communicated between PMC and the computer.

Assign Computers to a Group

  1. Select Computers from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipsis icon on the row of the appropriate computer.
  3. From the dropdown menu, select Edit Group.
  1. Select a group from the new dropdown menu and click Save Group Assignment. A toaster notification will appear and flash green to indicate that PMC has processed your request.

If you haven't created any groups yet, you will only see No Group in the dropdown menu.

For more information on creating a group in PMC, please see Create a Group.

Clear a Computer from a Group

  1. Select Computers from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipsis icon on the row of the appropriate computer.
  3. From the dropdown menu, select Edit Group.
  4. Click Clear Group Assignment.

Since policies are assigned to groups rather than to individual computers, if you clear a computer from a group, the policy on that computer is also cleared. The policy assignment to the wider group is not affected.

View Duplicate Computers

PMC can track duplicate computers. A duplicate is one that has the same host name as another computer but has not connected to PMC as recently. PMC does not do any additional processing to computers that are flagged as duplicates and they continue to receive policy from PMC.

Duplicate computers are hidden by default in the Computers grid. You can filter on duplicate computers using the grid filter and adding the column called Total Duplicates. In the Total Duplicates column, you can filter to a range of numbers.

Deduplication must be set on the Configuration page, on the Policy & Computer Settings tab.

For more information, please see Computer Deduplication Settings.

Deactivate Computers

Computers can be automatically deactivated by PMC if you choose to enable the functionality.

You can also manually deactivate a computer that has previously been authorized by PMC.

Deactivated computers are disconnected from PMC and will no longer be able to communicate with PMC. This action can't be reversed unless you reinstall the software on the client computer.

  1. Select Computers from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the computer you want to deactivate and click Deactivate. You are prompted to verify if you want to continue with the deactivation of the computer. Click Deactivate Anyway to proceed; otherwise, click Cancel.
For more information, please see the following:

Delete Deactivated Computers

If a computer is deactivated, it can be deleted from the Privilege Management Console database.

  1. Click on the row for the computer you want to delete.

  2. Click Delete at the top of the grid.

"Update Policy on All" Option

This option is only available if you have manual deployment set in the Policy Deployment Settings. This allows you to manually deploy the policy to all computers. The deployment will be spread across the number of minutes you define in the Policy Deployment Settings.

  1. Select Computers from the sidebar menu.
  2. Select the computers you want to update, and then click Update. You are prompted to check you want to continue with updating the policy on all computer(s). Click Update Policy on All to proceed; otherwise, click Cancel.

For more information, please see Policy Deployment Settings in Privilege Management Console.

"Update Policy on Selected" Option

This option is only available if you have manual deployment set in the Policy Deployment Settings. This allows you to manually deploy to the selected computers. The deployment will be spread across the number of minutes you define in the Policy Deployment Settings.

  1. Select Computers from the sidebar menu.
  2. Select the computers you want to update, and then click Update. You are prompted to check you want to continue with updating the policy. Click Update Policy Anyway to proceed; otherwise, click Cancel.

For more information, please see Policy Deployment Settings in Privilege Management Console.