Privilege Management Console Groups

Groups contain one or more computers. A policy is assigned to a group.

The PMC dashboard, showing the Groups tile

 

You can perform the following tasks in the Groups tile:

  • Create a group
  • View group details
  • Edit group properties
  • Set the Default Group
  • Assign a policy to a group
  • Delete a group

For more information, please see the following:

Create a Group in Privilege Management Console

A group is a collection of computers to which a policy can be assigned.

  1. Navigate to and click the Groups tile.
  2. Select Actions > Create Group.
  3. Enter a Group Name. The Description and Annotations fields are optional.
  4. Click Submit. Your group is created and appears in the grid list below.

Once the group is created, you can set it as the Default group. If set, the Default group will be selected by default when you add one or more computers to a group. To set the group as the Default group, right-click the group, and then select Set Default.

View the Details of a Group in Privilege Management Console

  1. Navigate to and click the Groups tile.
  2. Right-click the group you want to view the details for and click Details from the menu.
  3. These tabs allow you to see additional information for the group and what policy is currently applied to it, if any. You can click Edit to change these details.

For more information, please see Edit Properties of a User Account in Privilege Management Console.

Edit Properties of a Group in Privilege Management Console

  1. Navigate to and click the Groups tile.
  2. Right-click the group you want to edit the details for and click Edit Properties from the menu.
  3. Change the Group Name, Description, and Annotations, as required, and then click Submit.

Changing the details of a group, including the name, does not affect the computers that are added to the group, or the policy delivered to those computers.

Set a Default Group in Privilege Management Console

The Default Group, when set, appears first in the Group dropdown list in PMC.

  1. Navigate to and click the Groups tile.
  2. Right-click the group you want to make the Default Group and click Set Default from the menu. The row briefly flashes green to indicate that PMC has processed your request and the default column contains a green tick to indicate that it is the Default Group.

Computers being added to the system do not join the Default Group if no group is specified at install time.

For more information, please see Create Groups and Assign Policy.

Assign a Policy to a Group in Privilege Management Console

Assigning a policy to a group will allow you to manage computers in that group with the policy.

  1. Navigate to and click the Groups tile.
  2. Right-click the group you want to assign a policy to and click Assign Policy from the menu.
  3. Choose the policy you want to be assigned to the group from the menu and which revision of that policy.
  4. Click Assign to assign that policy to the group. The row briefly flashes green to indicate that PMC has processed your request.

Clear a Policy from a Group in Privilege Management Console

Computers in the group will have the policy removed when you clear a policy from a group.

  1. Navigate to and click the Groups tile.
  2. Right-click the group you want to clear the policy from and click Clear Policy from the menu.
  3. You are notified how many computers will be affected by the change. Click Continue Anyway to clear the policy; otherwise, click Cancel.

Delete a Group in Privilege Management Console

You can only delete groups that do not have any computers assigned to them. Groups can be deleted if they have a policy assigned to them.

  1. Navigate to and click the Groups tile.
  2. Right-click the group you want to delete and click Delete from the menu.
  3. Click Delete to continue deleting this group; otherwise, click Cancel.