Configure Backup and Restore on the U-Series Appliance

Save the U-Series Appliance configuration in case of disaster recovery or if you need to revert settings to a previous configuration. You can back up the U-Series Appliance immediately or schedule a backup to occur at regular intervals.

A backup contains full packages of all data for all roles set up on the U-Series Appliance.

You can select the backup location or use the default. When configuring the backup location, you can set the number of backups that are saved. The default number is 5 (0 is unlimited). When the retention number is reached, then the oldest backups are deleted and removed from the database permanently.

There is no time limit for how long backups are retained. Backups are only deleted when the retention limit is reached or when they are manually deleted.

Backup Location

By default, there is one backup location already for saving backups to a local path. New backup locations can be added which are either local or remote network shares.

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Backup and Restore.

The Backup page in the U-Series Appliance maintenance software

  1. Click New Backup Location.
  2. Enter a name and the local or remote path. If remote share requires credentials enter them here, or if the remote share is an NFS share, click that option.

We do not recommend storing backup files on an unsecured network share.

  1. Enter a value in the Retention box. Retention is the number of backups saved. When the limit is reached, then older backups are deleted and removed from the database permanently.
  2. Click Create Backup Location. This process attempts to write and delete a file. If that fails, you cannot create the backup location. Upon failure, we recommend that you verify access permissions.

Import Backups

After a backup location is added, it automatically adds any backups to the list on the page which are applicable for the U-Series Appliance.

If a backup file is added to a folder after it has already been created as an available backup location, click Import backups to force a rescan of the available folders.

Schedule a Backup

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Backup and Restore.
  2. Click Backup Scheduler to turn on scheduling.
  3. Select the backup location from the menu. If a new location is required, add it from the Backup Locations section.
  4. Select the day of the week and the time to run the backup.
  5. Create a password for the zip file.
  6. Check the Include Session Files in the Backup box. This has the potential to create a large backup file, depending on the number of local session files and how often they might be archived.
  7. Click Schedule Backup.

Back Up the U-Series Appliance Now

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Backup and Restore.
  2. Select the backup location from the menu. If a new location is required, add it from the Backup Locations section.
  3. Create a password for the zip file.
  4. Check the Include Session Files in the Backup box. This has the potential to create a large backup file, depending on the number of local session files and how often they might be archived.
  5. Click Create Backup.

Restore the U-Series Appliance

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Backup and Restore.
  2. Search through the list of available backups and click Restore.
    • If the backup was taken on this U-Series Appliance, you are not prompted for a password.
    • If the backup was taken on a different U-Series Appliance, you are prompted for a password.
  1. If the browser session remains open when a restore is complete, it returns a message displaying that the restore process is complete.

Download Backup

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Backup and Restore.
  2. Search through the list of available backups and click the download icon.

Delete Backups

  1. From the Maintenance menu, select Backup and Restore.
  2. Search through the list of available backups and click the delete / trash bin icon. This removes the backup from the list displayed and also removes it from the current folder location.

 

Warning: Once a backup is deleted it cannot be undone.

Contents of a Backup File

What is contained in a backup file:

BeyondInsight Analytics & Reporting

  • ReportServer Database
  • BeyondInsight Reporting Database
  • ReportServerTempDB Database
  • Cube database
  • Encryption key

BeyondInsight

  • BeyondInsight Database
  • BeyondInsight Registry information
  • Database Connection String
  • Encryption Key
  • System files

Event Collector

  • Product registry settings

Enterprise Update Server (EUS)

  • EUS Database
  • EUS webconfig

U-Series Appliance

  • Certificates (Client & Server)
  • Roles settings
  • U-Series Appliance Monitored data
  • U-Series Appliance Notification data
  • Performance Counters
  • Log Export Database

BeyondInsight for Unix & Linux (BIUL)

  • BIUL Database
  • Product Configuration
  • Log File
  • Related product settings

BeyondTrust Auto Update:

  • Proxy details
  • Registration details
  • Parent update server endpoint

BeyondTrust Updater

  • BeyondTrust Analyzer data
  • Client database
  • Health check report
  • Licenses
  • User database
  • Product related registry settings

Network Vulnerability Scanner

  • Product Registry settings
  • Certificates
  • Database audits
  • Application settings

Session Archiving

  • Session Monitoring files