Privilege Management Console Policies

The Policies tile allows you to see and interact with the policies being deployed by PMC.

The PMC dashboard showiing the Policies tile.

Upload a File in Privilege Management Console to Create Policy

You can upload an XML policy to PMC. If the policy does not exist, it is enumerated as revision one. If the policy does exist, it is a new revision.

  1. Navigate to and click the Policies tile.
  2. Right-click anywhere on the grid and click Upload File to Create Policy.
  3. Click the upload icon to browse to the XML file and click Open. The XML file is uploaded to the portal.

For more information, please see Upload Revision of an Existing Policy in Privilege Management Console.

Upload Policy Revision in Privilege Management Console

  1. Navigate to and click the Policies tile.
  2. Right-click on the policy you want to upload a new revision of and click Upload Revision.
  3. Click the upload icon to browse to the XML file and click Open. The XML file is uploaded to the portal.
  4. The new revision is uploaded, provided the XML validation passes. If the XML policy does not pass validation, the row is highlighted in red and the policy is not uploaded.

Each time the same policy is checked in from the MMC, the revision of the policy is incremented. New revisions of the same policy need to be manually assigned to the group; this is not done automatically.

For more information, please see Assign a Policy to a Group in Privilege Management Console.

View Policy Details in Privilege Management Console

For a single policy you can view additional details.

  1. Navigate to and click the Policies tile.
  2. Right-click the policy you want to view the details of and click Details from the menu. The Policy Details screen includes additional information about the policy. You can also download the policy from this area.

Download Policy in Privilege Management Console

You can download a policy from PMC in XML format if required.

  1. Navigate to and click the Policies tile.
  2. Right-click on the policy and click Download. The policy is downloaded to your downloaded files location.

Edit Properties of Policy in Privilege Management Console

You can edit the details for a single policy.

  1. Navigate to and click the Policies tile.
  2. Right-click the policy you want to view the details of and select Edit Properties from the menu.
  3. You can edit the Policy Name, Description, and Annotations here. Click Submit to save your changes.

Assign a Policy to a Group in Privilege Management Console

A policy can be assigned to one or more groups.

  1. Navigate to and click the Policies tile.
  2. Right-click the policy you want to assign to a group and click Assign Policy to Group.
  3. Select the group you want to assign the policy to from the dropdown and click Assign.
  4. The text at the bottom tells you how big the policy is and how many computers it will be assigned to. Click Assign to assign your group to the policy. The row briefly flashes green to indicate that PMC has processed your request.

For details on how you can control the deployment of your policy, please see Policy Deployment Settings in Privilege Management Console.

Discard Policy Draft and Undo Check Out in Privilege Management Console MMC Snap-in

If the policy is checked out using the Privilege Management MMC snap-in, you can force PMC to discard the changes and undo the checkout. You must be an Administrator or Policy Administrator.

To discard draft and undo checkout of a policy:

  1. Navigate to and click the Policies tile.
  2. Right-click on the policy that is checked out to the Privilege Management MMC snap-in and click Discard Draft & Undo Check Out.
  3. You are prompted to check that you do want to perform this action. Click Continue Anyway to discard the draft and undo the checkout; otherwise, click Cancel.

Delete a Policy in Privilege Management Console

You can only delete policies if they're not assigned to any group.

  1. Navigate to and click the Policies tile.
  2. Right-click on the policy that you want to delete and click Delete.
  3. You are prompted to check that you do want to perform this action. Click Delete Anyway to discard the draft and undo the check out; otherwise, click Cancel.