Privilege Management Console Computer Settings

The Computer Settings tile opens a page where you can manage computer deactivation settings and view a list of inactive computers.

Computer Settings tile in PMC

Auto Deactivate Settings

This page allows you to choose whether you want to deactivate computers that have not contacted PMC for a number of days that you define when you enable the functionality. For example, a computer might not have contacted PMC if it's a duplicate.

The task to deactivate computers runs every day at 02:30 server time on the node where the job service is running. The deactivation job is audited in the Activity Log. You can filter on deactivated computers in the Computers grid.

To enable the automatic deactivation of computers, check the Enable auto deactivation of computers box. When you check this box, enter a value between 30 and 365 days. This determines the duration since the computer last contacted PMC before it is automatically deactivated.

Check the box to enable auto deactivation of computers. You can then enter a value between 30 and 365 days to set the length of time that a computer can go without communicating with PMC before it is deactivated.

Deactivated computers are disconnected from PMC and are no longer able to communicate with PMC. This action can't be reversed unless you reinstall the software on the client computer.

 

With the release of PMC version 20.1, auto deactivate functionality is turned off by default, for both upgrades and new installations. If you want to turn on auto deactivate functionality, use the Enable auto deactivation of computers setting. The functionality remains unchanged.

You can also manually deactivate computers.

View Inactive Computers

  1. Click the Computer Settings tile to view a list of inactive computers.
  2. Click View in List to open the Computers page to view more detailed information on the computers.
  3. On the Computers page, right-click the computer and select Deactivate.

For more information, please see Deactivate Computers in Privilege Management Console.

Turn on Deduplication

You can manage duplicate computers on the Computer Settings tile. You can:

  • Turn on deduplication enumeration
  • View the number of duplicate computers in the PMC system
  • Remove duplicate computers
  • View a list of duplicate computers

To turn on deduplication:

  1. Click the Computer Settings tile.
  2. Click Enable auto deduplication of computers. The deduplication job runs nightly and detects duplicate computers.

To manage duplicate computers:

  1. Click the Computer Settings tile.
  2. Click View Computer List to see the duplicates.
  3. To remove the duplicates immediately, click Remove Duplicates.