Privilege Management Console Groups

Groups contain one or more computers. A policy is assigned to a group.

Groups contain one or more computers. A policy is assigned to a group.

You can perform the following tasks on the Groups page:

  • Create a group
  • View group details
  • Edit group properties
  • Set the Default Group
  • Assign a policy to a group
  • Delete a group

Create a Group

A group is a collection of computers to which a policy can be assigned.

  1. Select Groups from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click Create Group.
  3. Enter a Group Name. The Description field is optional.
  4. Click Submit. Your group is created and appears in the grid list below.

Once the group is created, you can set it as the Default group. If set, the Default group will be selected by default when you add one or more computers to a group. To set the group as the Default group, select the desired group name, and then click Set Default at the top of the Groups grid.

View the Details of a Group

  1. Select Groups from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipses icon on the appropriate group's row to expand more options and select View Group Details.
  3. The Group Details page allows you to see additional information for the group and what policy is currently applied to it, if any. You can click Edit Group to change these details.

For more information, please see Edit Properties of a User Account.

Edit Properties of a Group

  1. Select Groups from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipsis icon on the appropriate group's row to expand more options and select View Group Details.
  3. Select Edit Group at the top of the grid.
  4. Change the Group Name, and Description as required, and then click Save Group.

Changing the details of a group, including the name, does not affect the computers that are added to the group, or the policy delivered to those computers.

Set a Default Group

  1. Select Groups from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipsis icon on the appropriate group's row to expand more options and select Set Default.
  3. A prompt briefly appears and flashes green to indicate that PMC has processed your request and the new default group now has a (default) indicator beside its name to show the new status.

Computers being added to the system do not join the Default group if no group is specified at install time.

For more information, please see Create Groups and Assign Policy.

Assign a Policy to a Group

Assigning a policy to a group will allow you to manage computers in that group with the policy.

  1. Select Groups from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipsis icon on the appropriate group's row to expand more options and select Edit Policy Assignment.
  3. Choose the policy you want to be assigned to the group from the dropdown menu as well as which revision of the policy is needed.
  4. Click Save Policy Assignment to assign that policy to the group. A prompt briefly appears and flashes green to indicate that PMC has processed your request.

Clear a Policy from a Group

Computers in the group will have the policy removed when you clear a policy from a group.

  1. Select Groups from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipsis icon on the appropriate group's row to expand more options and select Edit Policy Assignment.
  3. Click Clear Policy Assignment to remove the policy from the group.
  4. You are notified how many computers will be affected by the change. Click Clear Policy Assignment to clear the policy; otherwise click Cancel.

Delete a Group

You can only delete groups that do not have any computers assigned to them. Groups can be deleted if they have a policy assigned to them.

  1. Select Groups from the sidebar menu.
  2. Click the vertical ellipsis icon on the appropriate group's row to expand more options and select Delete.
  3. You are notified to confirm the decision. Click Delete Group to delete the group; otherwise, click Cancel.