Edit and Delete Groups

Edit Basic Group Details

Administrators can edit the following basic details for groups:

  • For BeyondInsight local groups, administrators can change the active status, name, and description.
  • For Active Directory groups, administrators can change the active status, credential, and domain controller.
  • For LDAP groups, administrators can change the active status, credential, group membership attribute, and account naming attribute.

Follow these steps to edit a group:

  1. From the left navigation pane in the console, select Configuration.
  2. Under Role Based Access, select User Management.
  1. Optionally, filter the list of groups in the grid by Type, Name, Description, or Last Synchronization Date.

Image of Edit Group menu item on User Management page

  1. Select a group, and then click the More Options button, then select Edit Group.

 

  1. In the Edit Group pane, update the details as required, and then click Update Group.
  • For BeyondInsight local groups, administrators can change the active status, name, and description.
  • For Active Directory groups, administrators can change the active status, credential, and domain controller.
  • For LDAP groups, administrators can change the active status, credential, group membership attribute, and account naming attribute.

Edit Advanced Group Details

Administrators can edit advanced details, such as update permissions for features and smart groups, edit Password Safe roles, add and remove users from local groups, sync group users for Active Directory and LDAP groups, and update the API registrations.

  1. On the User Management page, optionally filter the list of groups in the grid by Type, Name, Description, or Last Synchronization Date, and then select a group.

View Group Details menu option

  1. Click the More Options button, and then select View Group Details.

 

More Options > Assign or disable permissions

  1. Select the desired features or smart groups, click More Options, and then select to assign or disable permissions accordingly.

 

Filter the grid by local groups

  1. On the User Management page, filter the grid by local groups.

 

Select View Group details from the menu

  1. Select the group, click the More Options button, and then select View Group Details.

 

Screenshot of removing users from a local group

  1. Under Group Details, select Users.
  2. Filter the Users grid to show assigned users.
  3. Select the user or users, and then click the Remove button.

 

Filter the grid by local groups on the User Management page

  1. On the User Management page, filter the grid by local groups.

 

Select View Group details from the menu

  1. Select the group, click More Options, and then select View Group Details.

 

Screenshot of adding users to a local group

  1. Under Group Details, select Users.
  1. Filter the Users grid to show unassigned users.
  2. Select the user or users, and then click Assign User.

 

Filter the grid by Active Directory and LDAP groups on the User Management page.

  1. On the User Management page, filter the grid by Active Directory and LDAP groups.

 

Select Sync Group users from the menu

  1. Select the group, click More Options, and then select Sync Group Users.

 

Delete a Group

Administrators can delete groups as follows:

  1. From the left navigation pane in the console, select Configuration.
  2. Under Role Based Access, select User Management.
  1. Optionally, filter the list of groups in the grid by Type, Name, Description, or Last Synchronization Date.
  1. Select a group, and then click the Delete button above the grid, or click the More Options button, and then select Delete Group.